TCWT Blog Chain Post: May 2014

Hey! So, I’m taking part in a blog chain, found here. The prompt is: What kinds of published books would you like to see more of? Hmmmm….

Well, I think I’m going to start with being very specific. There’s this series I read when I was in, like, 5th grade or something like that that had a horrible ending, at least for me. I absolutely hate books that leave everything open at the end. The series I’m specifically talking about right now is Chasing Yesterday.

It pretty much ended like any book would, but paving the way for at least one more book, if not two or three. It’s as if the author was like, “well, I want it to be a trilogy, so I’m just going to just stop writing now.” I HATED IT SO MUCH! I’m not going to give anything away, because it’s actually a pretty good series, so you should read it, but the ending sucks.

Now, going wayyy more general. I wish there were more books written from a guy’s point of view. I mean, I already know how girls think- I am one (not a typical one, to be sure, but I have Gabby for the “typical” stuff). I really liked Allegiant (excuse me while I go sob in a corner at the mention of it) from Tobias’ point of view. I just wish it was for a different reason… CURSE YOU VERONICA ROTH!

The books I’ve started writing (there’s probably about 50+ of them) are actually pretty even, with a handful having a guy narrator, and the rest a girl’s point of view. It’s just so much more interesting when authors mix it up. I’m so tired of hearing about a girl, with a little romance problems, who has to change worlds or something like that (going with dystopian novels here). There’s so much more out there!

One thing that ticks me off is when people say to not focus on describing the characters, to let the readers develop their own image in their heads. That’s a little hypocritical, because everyone’s always like, “DETAIL!!!” Plus, I like the book to paint a picture in my mind, don’t you? Anyways, I just want your opinions on this because my friend and I got into an argument about it the other day.

Alright, I need to go finish some homework 😦 I’m looking forward to everyone else’s posts! Good luck!

-Sam

 

Participants In The Chain:

24 thoughts on “TCWT Blog Chain Post: May 2014

  1. Good post. I find your opinions interesting– I for one find no shortage of books narrated by guys. Neither do I find a shortage of books narrated by girls. However, it is possible that as we correct the obvious lack of female protagonists over the history of fiction, we overcorrect and make guy-narration more scarce. Personally, I don’t mind the gender of the narrator, as long as the book is written well. The main charm of the book shouldn’t rest on the gender of the narrator. (Examples: Partials by Dan Wells, and Reckless by Cornelia Funke. Both have amazing stories and amazing worlds, with amazing characters– the last thing on your mind as you read either is whether the protagonist is a guy or a girl.)

    Good post!

  2. Definitely I go for painting pictures. Just the important stuff, so you can see roughly who would play it in a movie, but leave some blurs for the reader to fill in. Huge detail for places – especially if you’re putting a fight scene in them! There’s no point letting someone trip over a door-sill that you hadn’t even said was there.
    Maybe the Chasing Yesterday end was deliberate? Like in Series of Unfortunate Events: now, reader, you decide in your own mind what happens next.
    I agree with Liam: the narrators are pretty fairly spread out, even if you only go back to say the 1950s to start counting.

    • Yeah, I HATE when I can’t get a clear picture in my mind of the character! And I agree, it’s definitely a lot more important when describing setting. As to the ending, I don’t care whether it was deliberate or not (which it probably was). I just HATE endings like that, because I feel like the entire purpose of the book is to tell a story, not leave a huge openended half finished story.

  3. I completely agree with having descriptions of characters! It is very subjective, though. Maybe most people like to form their own picture, but some still want to see the character like the author intended. So I think it’s unfair to outlaw any literary device.

    On a side note, you’ve been writing 50+ books? Wow!

    • Another thing is, the people who don’t like the descriptions then complain when movies come out portraying the characters differently than imagined. They can’t really complain because 1. they LIKE the no-descriptions, which leads to 2. there WAS no description in the first place for the movie to go off of.

      And yeah, I know! I’m actually not exaggerating. Although most of them only have, like, one or two chapters written, two or three have a lot of chapters done.

  4. Having more (or maybe I should say reading more) guy main characters would be nice. I know I loved reading Four’s e-novella of the knife scene. 🙂 In the case of women writing for guys, I used to think that it (for me) was not a good idea because we’re girls and..not guys. But I’ve written for a guy since then and didn’t find it too difficult. (I think I’m rambling. Oops. :D)

    I really like it when the characters are described too! Instead of having faceless people floating around in my head, there’s actually a picture I can imagine. I don’t like info dumping though >.< Love your post!

  5. Good post! I actually haven’t paid that much attention to character descriptions, but as I think about it I do like a couple details to give me a general picture of him/her. (And for the love of the Oxford comma, please, please, cover designers, make the girl on the cover actually match the description of the girl the text told me about.)

  6. I agree there needs to be more books in a guy’s POV. I enjoy the books I find with them. I recently read ONE + ONE = BLUE from a guy’s POV. WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE I think switches between female and male.

    Thanks for sharing!

  7. Lovely post! (I’m also part of the blog chain this month. :D) A really good series narrated by a guy is the Underland Chronicles, by Suzanne Collins. If you’re interested.

  8. Ah, yeah, the Allegiant feels. 😦 SO MANY.

    And I agree with what you said about abrupt book-one-in-a-series endings; we definitely need more standalones that just… end. I find that there a lot more of them if you’re willing to read some contemporary, though, as the norm for YA fantasy/sci-fi/etc. just tends to be a series. Still, I’d love to be able to read more YA sci-fis without having to be dragged through an unnecessary cliffhanger.

    Great post, and thanks so much for participating! 🙂

    • I kinda like cliffhangers… sort of… maybe… maybe not… I don’t know, as you can see, I’m conflicted. A lot. As long as there’s something coming to end the cliffhanger I suppose I’m ultimately okay with them, in the grand scheme of things (maybe not in the moment 🙂 ). But I can’t stand when it ends with a cliffhanger, and there’s no closure! And thanks and no problem, it was fun!

  9. Pingback: TCWT Blog Chain: My YA Reader Wishlist

  10. Hmm, interesting. I don’t think I come across that many books with male narrators except in third person, but it’s not something that’s stood out to me. I’d agree there are probably more first person female narratives, but more third person male ones? At least that I’ve come across, but I may be wrong.

  11. Pingback: What Do YA Readers Want? – Data | Jennifer Austin – Author

  12. Pingback: What Do YA Readers WANT?!! | Jennifer Austin – Author

Leave a Reply

