TCWT Blog Chain Post: June 2014

Hey! So, the blog chain is back again this month! This month’s prompt is: What are your thoughts on movie-to-book adaptations? Would you one day want your book to be made into a movie, or probably not?

This is a really interesting topic, one that I’ve thought about many times, probably because of all the crappy adaptations I’ve seen. Let me start with the absolute worst movie-to-book adaptation ever: the Percy Jackson and the Olympians movies.

First of all, can I just say that they’re supposed to be 12 years old, not 16. Now, that might be easier to overcome if the whole freaking plot wasn’t about Percy turning 16! I mean, c’mon now. When he turns 16, the prophesy is fulfilled. How the hell is that possible if he’s already 16 in the first movie?!

Sorry. Kinda lost it there. Anyways, another movie-to-book adaptation that irks me is the Harry Potter series. And not because of the main plots, but because he had blue eyes in the movie. Like, really guys, you couldn’t have given Daniel Radcliffe color contacts? I literally yell at the TV “NO HE DOESN’T!” anytime the Harry Potter movies are on and someone says, “Oh, Harry, you have your mother’s eyes,” (seriously, ask my mom- it annoys the hell out of her, and has earned me some groundings before).

Don’t even get me started on A Series of Unfortunate Events. First, can I ask why they would put three books into one movie when movies can never cover one full book? And it were really inaccurate. Also, because of the whole three-books-one-movie thing, it missed a lot of things. No. Just, no.

Anyways, I’ve yet to find a movie that meets my expectations from the book. Although Harry Potter is fairly accurate with the storyline, I still can’t get past the whole blue-eyes thing. So, I really don’t think the book-to-movie adaptations are good. At all.

That being said, if someone wanted to make a movie out of my book, that would be the highlight of my life right there. Yes, I know I’m being a little hypocritical here, but I’m holding on to the delusional hope that my book-to-movie adaptation would be different than all the rest.

Plus, it’d be freaking awesome to see my book title on the theater preview signs.

I guess because it’s made into a movie, that would mean my book is a hit. It’s awesome by everyone else’s terms, not just my own. And that’s really an amazing thought.

Alright, I’m trying to figure out more to say, but I really can’t explain it better than that. Plus, I have to go work on my Dos quarter project. Bye!

-Sam

P.S. Sorry to those of you who are in a different time zone than me, and who waited for all of their day for this post. While I am getting this up at around 7 for my time zone, I’m sure there are some of you who are already into the early morning of June 8.

 

Participants In The Chain

10 thoughts on “TCWT Blog Chain Post: June 2014

  1. Bad adaptions can sure be frustrating! About the Percy Jackson scenario, maybe many movies make the protagonists older than in the book because child actors are hard to find. Just a thought.

  2. Oh yeah, I couldn’t finish Percy Jackson either. I liked that they tried to be different, but I think they were aiming too much for a teen audience even though the story itself just didn’t work for that, and it ended up being a bit of a mess. Eragon was the same, IMO.

    Awesome post!

  3. I was so disappointed by a Series of Unfortunate Events. It was such a great book series, but then the movie–no, just no. One book to movie that I loved though was the Devil Wears Prada. It was done great in both mediums.

  4. Good post, but while I agree about a few of the movies you listed, I think that as long as the movie is a good one, it doesn’t matter if it lines up with the book. Prince Caspian, for example— or Lord of the Rings. If the story is told well, it will make up for any discrepancies.

    Good post!

  5. Pingback: TCWT Blog Chain: Movie vs. Book

Leave a Reply

