Books I Want To Read In 2014

Hey. So, I love reading. It is the best. I am going to choose 12 books to read (1 for each month) in 2014, and tell them to you, and tell you why I chose them. Mostly, I’ve just been meaning to read them, but still. Anyways, here are the books, in no particular order (don’t worry about spoilers- one, I haven’t even read the books, so how could I spoil, and two, I’m not even including a summary, so, like I said, don’t worry).

1. I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

Well, I want to read this one for a few reasons. First, it’s written by Markus Zusak, who wrote The Book Thief, which was phenomenal. The best book I have ever read, with one of the worst endings I have ever read, seconded only to Allegiant by Veronica Roth. Second, It seems like a good book, period. It caught my eye with the author, and the description made me want to read more.

2. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

This one looks pretty interesting. I absolutely LOVE sci-fi, and this is that genre, so it caught my eye, along with the description. I found it on Barnes and Noble’s The Best New Books Of 2013 For Teens. It is intriguing also because the description is so mysterious- it leaves a lot to be uncovered in the story, and I want to know more.

3. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

This one I have been wanting to read since the 5th grade. It sounds really, really good, and everywhere I look says it’s extraordinarily written and a masterpiece (so I changed the words a little, but they still embody the basic ideas 🙂 ). It sounds amazing.

4. Stranger In A Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein

Okay, so I kind of cheated with this one a little. I’ve already started this one several times, but for some reason (although it’s an awesome book), I never seem to finish it (or even get more than 3/4 of the way through, for that matter). I don’t know why, but I am determined to find out what happens. Oh, and by the way, it took me a few minutes of scrolling to find this exact cover, the one to the book that I have. Apparently the “Original, Uncut” version has a unique cover. Who knew?

5. Angels And Demons by Dan Brown

I’ve been wanting to read this one for a while. It’s the first book in The DaVinci Code, and this cover is the original. Everyone’s been talking about it for as long as I can remember, and I’ve been meaning to read it for as long as I can remember, but I’ve just never gotten around to it.

6. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Okay, I’ll admit it- I just looked at this one because of the cover at first. But I picked it because of what it sounded like. Fast-paced and full of action, which I love. Plus, it’s sci-fi. Well, we all know I’m a sucker for sci-fi 🙂

7. Asylum by Madeleine Roux

This one was also on Barnes and Noble’s The Best New Books Of 2013 For Teens. I do like horror (I saw The Conjuring, Insidious, and Insidious Chapter 2), so that’s why this one’s cover caught my eye. I looked into it, and it seemed pretty interesting, so I decided to pledge to read it in 2014.

8. In The After by Demitria Lunetta

I found this book under of Amazon’s Best Books Of The Year 2013: Teen & Young Adult. The title and the cover prompted me to further investigate this seemingly-interesting book. I really want to read it, for a few reasons. One, it leaves a lot to be answered. Two, it just seems interesting, and it makes me want to buy it right now and sit down and read it. But I’ll wait until 2014. Or at least until after Christmas, to see if I get any of these books (which I probably won’t, but you never know).

9. Dead To You by Lisa McMann

This one I found under Barnes and Noble’s Must-Reads For Teens. It seems very, very interesting, and I want to take a ride to the book store and pick it up right now. It wouldn’t be a problem except for one, I’m supposed to be doing homework, and two, I’m in my jammies….

10. Legend by Marie Lu

I’ve been meaning to read this for a couple months. It looks pretty interesting. I like mystery and suspense (as long as I can keep reading- have I ever mentioned that I HATE waiting and patience?!). It seems to be a mix of sci-fi and suspense, which is usually a good combination.

11. Parasite by Mira Grant

This sounds like an amazing idea for a book, and it’s sci-fi! I found it on Bookish’s The Best Sci-fi And Fantasy Books Of 2013 (yes, I’ve been Google-ing “the best teen sci-fi books of 2013” if you can’t tell 🙂 ). I can’t wait to see if the parasites- oh, wait, I promised no spoilers, not even summaries. Sorry!

12. The Host by Stephenie Meyer

I’ve been hearing about this for a couple of years now, and it sounds pretty good, and I want to see the movie, but I want to read the book first. I’ve been meaning to, but haven’t gotten around to it. I read Twilight (Taylor Lautner is wayyyy hotter than Robert Pattinson, and Jacob is way better than Edward for Bella, too, but don’t get me started), and I like Stephenie Meyer, so that should be a good read.

Wow, this was a REALLY long post. It took me around 2 hours to complete. Of course, I had to wrack my brains to try and remember the books I really wanted to read. You may ask, Sam, if you love reading so much, then why don’t you remember this stuff? The answer is, ADHD. I’m disorganized, which goes along with the ADHD, plus my brain works in different ways than normal people’s do (for that matter, it works different that normal ADHD people’s do! Doctors always call me an enigma!). I can store a lot of information in my mind, and even though it takes awhile to pull it back out, I can do it. Anyway, enough with this post. You’ve seen enough. Bye!

-Sam